Spending & Use
Stablecoin Off-Ramps: Routes to Bank Money, Dated
An off-ramp turns a stablecoin back into bank money. Four route families exist: issuer redemption, exchange bank withdrawal, exchange crypto withdrawal, and broker or swap conversion. Each carries its own fee, minimum, and timing. This page lists them with dates, and ranks nothing.
The question this page answers
An off-ramp is the way out. Bank money in, stablecoin out is the on-ramp. Stablecoin back to bank money is the off-ramp. The two are not mirror images. The routes differ, the fees differ, and the minimums mostly bite on the way out.
This page walks the four route families. Issuer redemption, the issuers’ own channels. Exchange withdrawal, both to bank and to another chain. Broker and swap conversion, the market-mediated middle. And the cross-chain move that often precedes an exit. Every figure is a published fee, captured on a dated run. The capture dates are 11 and 12 September 2026.
One rule before the numbers. No route here is ranked. The fee is a fact about a venue, not a verdict on it.
The issuer-direct legs
The issuers run their own doors, and their pricing bears no resemblance to retail venues.
Circle Mint. Wire-funded minting into USDC is free, with the outbound network fee the only cost [1]. Redemption to dollars is tiered at the Basic tier. No fee up to 40 million dollars per day. Then 2 basis points to 100 million. Then 5 basis points above. Effective 15 March 2026, settling up to 2 business days [2].
Tether direct. Acquisition of newly issued USDt costs 0.1 percent [3]. Redemption costs the greater of 1,000 dollars or 0.1 percent, on a 100,000 dollar minimum [3]. Account verification carries a 150 dollar fee [3]. This channel exists for large balances and says so through its minimums.
What the issuer doors do not do is convert between the two tokens. Tether redeems only USDt. Circle redeems only USDC [1] [3]. Every USDT to USDC move is market-mediated, on an exchange or a swap. That structural fact is the answer to a question this page gets often, and it holds everywhere.
The exchange legs
Exchanges carry two off-ramp legs, one to the bank and one to another network.
Bank legs, from one captured venue’s support article [5]. ACH to a US bank is free, 0 to 2 business days, 1 dollar minimum. FedWire is 4 dollars fixed, 0 to 1 business days, 20 dollar minimum. The instant RTP rail is 1.50 percent, capped at 50 dollars, near instant where the bank supports it [5].
A second venue’s published schedule, page-dated 20 January 2026 and captured 12 September 2026, prices its fiat legs at zero [7]. ACH deposits and withdrawals are free. Wire withdrawals cost 25 dollars. Debit-card purchases cost 3.49 percent, and PayPal deposits 2.50 percent [7]. Its trading fee runs 0.600 percent maker and 1.200 percent taker at the base tier, falling with volume [8].
Crypto legs, from the first venue’s withdrawal article [6]. Withdrawing USDC to Ethereum costs 0.6558 USDC. To Solana, 1.0425. To Base and Polygon, 1.00 each. Minimums run 0.78696, 1.2510, 2.50, and 2.00 USDC respectively [6]. Compare those fixed fees with the chain-level transfer costs on the chains hub and the venue markup is visible at a glance.
The swap and broker legs
Before any exit, tokens often trade into the token the exit wants. The swap venues publish their takes. One exchange’s Tier 0 pairs run 0 percent maker and 0.01 percent taker [9]. The largest DEX family prices v2 swaps at a flat 0.30 percent, v3 at tiered 0.05, 0.30, and 1 percent, and v4 at creator-set rates from zero to 100 percent [10]. Gas sits on top at the chain’s own cost [10].
One broker publishes a tiered bank-transfer on-ramp from zero to 1.3 percent, card purchases at 2.5 to 3.8 percent, and crypto-to-crypto swaps at zero to 0.5 percent [11]. Its USDC-to-USDC bridge leg is 0.1 percent [11].
The cross-chain move before the exit
Many exits start with the token on the wrong chain. The issuer’s own burn-and-mint transfer charges no protocol fee for the standard speed, with gas the only cost, paid on both chains [4]. A fast transfer variant carries an on-chain fee per transaction [4]. When a venue withdrawal table prices a chain move at a fixed 1 USDC, the free protocol route is the comparison worth knowing [6].
The dated fee table
The rows below are the captured venues’ own published figures. The date column is the capture date, not a price guarantee.
| Route | Fee | Minimum | Timing | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circle Mint, wire in to USDC | 0% | none stated | same-day process | 2026-09-11 [1] |
| Circle Mint, USDC to USD, Basic tier | 0% to $40M/day, 2 bps to $100M, 5 bps above | none stated | up to 2 business days | 2026-09-11 [2] |
| Tether direct, USD to USDt | 0.1% | $100,000 | issuer process | 2026-09-11 [3] |
| Tether direct, USDt redemption | 0.1%, min fee $1,000 | $100,000 | issuer process | 2026-09-11 [3] |
| Exchange ACH to US bank | 0% | $1 | 0 to 2 business days | 2026-09-11 [5] |
| Exchange FedWire | $4 fixed | $20 | 0 to 1 business days | 2026-09-11 [5] |
| Exchange instant rail, RTP | 1.50%, $50 cap | $20 | near instant | 2026-09-11 [5] |
| USDC withdrawal to Ethereum | 0.6558 USDC | 0.78696 USDC | network-settled | 2026-09-11 [6] |
| USDC withdrawal to Solana | 1.0425 USDC | 1.2510 USDC | network-settled | 2026-09-11 [6] |
| Second venue, ACH in or out | 0% | none stated | not stated | 2026-09-12 [7] |
| Second venue, wire out | $25 fixed | none stated | not stated | 2026-09-12 [7] |
| Second venue, card purchase | 3.49% | none stated | not stated | 2026-09-12 [7] |
| DEX v2 swap | 0.30% flat | none | on-chain | 2026-09-11 [10] |
| DEX v3 swap | 0.05% / 0.30% / 1% tiers | none | on-chain | 2026-09-11 [10] |
| Issuer cross-chain transfer, standard | 0%, gas both chains | none | attestation-gated | 2026-09-11 [4] |
Two venues appear without rows. One blocks automated reads of its fee pages, so nothing is captured and nothing is guessed. Another sells conversions inside logged-in flows, so no published schedule exists to cite. Their absence is a documentation fact, dated 2026-09-11, not an insinuation.
What no route does
Three refusals close the page. No route converts USDT to USDC through an issuer. No route here is ranked against another, because fees price legs, not outcomes. And no figure above survives without its date. The methods page holds the spending rails this exit sits beside. The card page holds the rail that skips the bank leg entirely.
Where this page sits
The spend hub frames the cluster. The USDC page and USDT page hold the tokens these routes move. The chains hub holds the network costs the crypto legs ride on. Every figure above carries its capture date, and the reviewed date moves when the venues move.
Frequently asked questions
Can you convert USDC to cash?
Yes, through several routes with very different fees. Circle's own Mint redeems USDC to dollars with no fee up to 40 million dollars per day at the Basic tier, effective 15 March 2026, settling within two business days. Exchanges offer bank withdrawals, one captured venue charging nothing for ACH and 4 dollars for wire. Every figure on this page carries its date.
Can I transfer USDC to my bank account?
Not directly. The transfer runs in two legs. First the USDC becomes dollars, through an exchange sale or an issuer redemption. Then the dollars move to the bank, by ACH, wire, or an instant rail depending on the venue. Each leg has its own fee and its own timing, and the table on this page lists both.
Can I transfer USDT to my bank account?
Through the same two legs. Tether's direct channel redeems to dollars at 0.1 percent with a 100,000 dollar minimum, so it serves large balances. For smaller amounts the practical route is an exchange sale followed by a bank withdrawal, at the venue's published fees, dated on this page.
What is the best way to get USDC to cash or bank?
This page does not rank routes. The fee depends on the amount, the speed, and the rail. Issuer redemption is priced in basis points but gates on minimums and account setup. Exchange withdrawals price by rail, from free ACH to a percentage on instant rails. The dated table lets you match the route to your own constraints.
What is an on-ramp versus an off-ramp?
An on-ramp turns bank money into crypto. An off-ramp turns crypto back into bank money. The same venues often run both, at different prices. This page covers the off direction, with the on-ramp rows included where the venue publishes them side by side.
How do you cash out a large amount of crypto?
Large balances change the arithmetic. The issuers' direct channels price in fractions of a percent. Circle's Basic tier charges nothing up to 40 million dollars per day, then basis points above. Tether's redemption is 0.1 percent with a 1,000 dollar minimum fee. At that scale the issuer route and the exchange route stop being close, and the numbers are on this page.
Last verified